1. Having trouble logging in by clicking the link at the top right of the page? Click here to be taken to the log in page.
    Dismiss Notice

Transfer Talk

Discussion in 'Transfer Rumours' started by PaulM1888, Jun 24, 2009.

Discuss Transfer Talk in the Transfer Rumours area at TalkCeltic.net.

  1. CountyDownFaithful

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2018
    Messages:
    1,257
    Likes Received:
    995
    Doubt it’ll change. It may offer some normality while the leagues across the world try to sort everything out for the new season kicking off which I hope will be August for us.

    Although I would guess that the transfer process will be impacted. If countries are still banning inward and/or outward travel then getting medicals done will be difficult.
     
  2. JC Anton Here we go... Gold Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010
    Messages:
    41,873
    Likes Received:
    21,947
    I think they will change the parameters as we have seasons ending at different times..
     
  3. CountyDownFaithful

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2018
    Messages:
    1,257
    Likes Received:
    995
    Perhaps an extension...
     
    JC Anton likes this.
  4. G_portillo

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2009
    Messages:
    2,425
    Likes Received:
    739
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Fav Celtic Player:
    Van Djik
    Thoughts on Lewis Ferguson? Could never see it, but supposing it was feasible..?
     
  5. The_Bhoy

    Joined:
    May 20, 2020
    Messages:
    361
    Likes Received:
    175
    Fav Celtic Player:
    Larsson
    No thanks
     
  6. CountyDownFaithful

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2018
    Messages:
    1,257
    Likes Received:
    995
    Nowhere near the calibre of player we already have in central midfield.

    Brown, McGregor, Ntcham, Christie and Rogic all head and shoulders above. Soro and Bitton as back up to them.
     
    Jeremie Frimpong likes this.
  7. G_portillo

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2009
    Messages:
    2,425
    Likes Received:
    739
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Fav Celtic Player:
    Van Djik
    nobody said to start straight away mate. All those except brown were once not of a calibre to start. Only Brown was bought as a starter and he took a while to settle. And brown was a few years older also.

    many had that attitude with some of the players of the past that we never went for, who went on to be worth a lot of money. What could players be around a better team, training better, with more competition.
    Look at christie. Folk were writing him off. One of our best players now.
     
  8. Dublin Celt

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2019
    Messages:
    1,082
    Likes Received:
    641
    Fav Celtic Player:
    Barry Coffey
    If that was the case I'd rather we looked to pushing on connell Robertson and Coffey not forgetting mcinroy

    Sent from my GM1903 using Tapatalk
     
  9. CountyDownFaithful

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2018
    Messages:
    1,257
    Likes Received:
    995
    I just don’t think Ferguson is good enough. He isn’t blessed technically and hard work only gets you so far.

    Lewis Smith, midfielder with Hamilton, is a far better prospect if we are looking to snap up more Scottish talent.
     
    The_Bhoy likes this.
  10. Dublin Celt

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2019
    Messages:
    1,082
    Likes Received:
    641
    Fav Celtic Player:
    Barry Coffey
  11. The_Bhoy

    Joined:
    May 20, 2020
    Messages:
    361
    Likes Received:
    175
    Fav Celtic Player:
    Larsson
  12. Dan Breen

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2019
    Messages:
    1,340
    Likes Received:
    635
    Fav Celtic Song:
    Grace
    Looks like he is heading to join up with KT.
     
  13. Foley1888

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    730
    Likes Received:
    160
    Some useful players with contracts coming to an end or are available on a free, some of which we have been linked to before. Given I feel the squad needs at least a GK, CB, LB and LW and if we lose first team players like Ajer, Ntcham and or Eddy they will need replaced. Apart from LB that would be just replacing loans (GK & LW) or a gap (CB) we had last year with no real effort to improve.

    By no means suggesting signing all of them (or the majority) but picking up two or three good players in positions that need filled will free up money for transfer fees in what will be a challenging market post the lockdowns across Europe. This would allow us to spend money to get Forster for GK and use money to buy an Ajer replacement for example if he goes.

    Left Back
    Nicusor Bancu - https://www.transfermarkt.co.uk/nicusor-bancu/profil/spieler/213195
    Filip Mladenovic - https://www.transfermarkt.co.uk/filip-mladenovic/profil/spieler/168063

    Centre Back
    Daniel Ayala - https://www.transfermarkt.co.uk/daniel-ayala/profil/spieler/78966
    Abdul Mumin - https://www.transfermarkt.co.uk/abdul-mumin/profil/spieler/451801
    Kevin Theophile Catherine -https://www.transfermarkt.co.uk/kevin-theophile-catherine/profil/spieler/60603
    Jake Cooper - https://www.transfermarkt.co.uk/jake-cooper/profil/spieler/243603
    Dino Arslanagic- https://www.transfermarkt.co.uk/dino-arslanagic/profil/spieler/110660

    Right Back
    Omar Elabdellaoui - https://www.transfermarkt.co.uk/omar-elabdellaoui/profil/spieler/121404

    Centre Mid
    Martin Hasek https://www.transfermarkt.co.uk/martin-hasek/profil/spieler/299961
    Jordi Quintilla - https://www.transfermarkt.co.uk/jordi-quintilla/profil/spieler/166679
    Frank Boya- https://www.transfermarkt.co.uk/frank-boya/profil/spieler/473201
    Jeff Hendrick - https://www.transfermarkt.co.uk/jeff-hendrick/profil/spieler/148262

    Left Wing
    Kevin Bua - https://www.transfermarkt.co.uk/kevin-bua/profil/spieler/252080
    Bryan Linssen - https://www.transfermarkt.co.uk/bryan-linssen/profil/spieler/82410

    Striker
    Christian Gytkjaer - https://www.transfermarkt.co.uk/christian-gytkjaer/profil/spieler/76274
    Moussa Sylla - https://www.transfermarkt.co.uk/moussa-sylla/profil/spieler/460655
     
  14. Dublin Celt

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2019
    Messages:
    1,082
    Likes Received:
    641
    Fav Celtic Player:
    Barry Coffey
    I'd imagine we would be blown outta water when it comes to wages, there isn't one player on that list that really springs to mind that ticks all the boxes, (wages, ability, starting 11 etc)

    Sent from my GM1903 using Tapatalk
     
    Dan Breen and The_Bhoy like this.
  15. The_Bhoy

    Joined:
    May 20, 2020
    Messages:
    361
    Likes Received:
    175
    Fav Celtic Player:
    Larsson
    Surely Fraser Forster is on similar wages to what Ryan Fraser would be or close, Bournemouth don’t have the same amount of funds/wages as Southampton do they.

    Just looked quickly, not sure how legit this site is https://www.spotrac.com/epl/southampton-f.c/fraser-forster-22940/
    But FF’s contract on there is 70k p/week and Ryan frasers is 27k. It that’s the case it’s a no brainer for me to try get him in instead of Ely
     
    littlekennie likes this.
  16. dmccourt95

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2011
    Messages:
    3,608
    Likes Received:
    1,119
    Location:
    Clydebank
    Difference is forster knows he needs to take a wage cut, fraser will have clubs offering him 80-100k as he’s a free
     
    The_Bhoy and Westlondonscot like this.
  17. The_Bhoy

    Joined:
    May 20, 2020
    Messages:
    361
    Likes Received:
    175
    Fav Celtic Player:
    Larsson
    I’m not saying we’d get him for 27 just saying if we’re looking at spending the money talked about on either FF or Ely with transfer fees included as big wages...surely a big signing on bonus (to maybe balance out his 80-100 offers) and a top of our wage bracket offer to a free agent of Frasers quality is worthwhile
     
    dmccourt95 likes this.
  18. Ziggy

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2019
    Messages:
    810
    Likes Received:
    437
    Fav Celtic Player:
    Mjallby
    Hes wants to stay and he knows that he needs to take a pay cut Forster I mean

    Frasirs been linked with Arsenal loads
     
  19. Kiwibhoy27

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2020
    Messages:
    455
    Likes Received:
    407
    Fav Celtic Player:
    Scott Brown
    Fav Celtic Song:
    Just Can't Get Enough
    Surely we should be look at meling from rosenborg at LB contract up in January and has looked good any time we've played them solve the LB problem
     
  20. CodyBhoy

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2014
    Messages:
    946
    Likes Received:
    335
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Fav Celtic Player:
    Rogic
    Fav Celtic Song:
    Ninetoes Finder
    I heard from a friend that we are interested in Fischer from Copenhagen if we can't get elyounousi back