1. Having trouble logging in by clicking the link at the top right of the page? Click here to be taken to the log in page.
    Dismiss Notice

Competency Based job interviews

Discussion in 'TalkCeltic Pub' started by thecolgan, Feb 25, 2013.

Discuss Competency Based job interviews in the TalkCeltic Pub area at TalkCeltic.net.

1. thecolgan

Fav Celtic Song:
    LTPS / BOTOB
    Does anyone have any tips on how to do well with these sort of interviews. I've had 6 interviews since the turn of the year but have been unsuccessful each time due to not giving detailed enough answers to these sort of questions. Problem is I am a "head down" kind of guy at work so don't really "influence" as such and that is the kind of thing that they are looking for. I am also a terrible liar and have tried making up answers on the spot but just get lost in the detail. Have looked on the net and there is a lot of information about the STAR system but I don't really have any examples.

I'm a graduate accountant with 1 years experience and the jobs I've been going for are in the financial services industry.

Any help would be appreciated

2. Tidet

what i done the last time is I took some emails of when people have thanked me for doing something for them, written a log of important events in my working life, any experiences relevant. This makes it easier in the interview to show or bend your answer to fit their question, the questions are all generic so with a bit of a sense you should be able to answer almost anything

3. Avatar Daizen The Last Hunskelper Gold Member

Fav Celtic Player:
    Charlie Mulgrew
    Fav Celtic Song:
    The SAM Song
    Competency based questions can be really tough to answer, but that's why they're so popular in job interviews.

My advice would be to take a minute to think about your answer. You won't get penalised for just taking a moment to think about what you are going to say and it will save you from rushing yourself and getting muddled up.