1. Having trouble logging in by clicking the link at the top right of the page? Click here to be taken to the log in page.
    Dismiss Notice

Best broadband provider?

Discussion in 'TalkCeltic Pub' started by Padmill, Aug 3, 2016.

Discuss Best broadband provider? in the TalkCeltic Pub area at TalkCeltic.net.

  1. scuzzy Gold Member Gold Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2018
    Messages:
    645
    Likes Received:
    669
    Location:
    Clydebank
    Fav Celtic Player:
    Henke, KT, Naka, Lubo
    Fav Celtic Song:
    fields of athenry
    I've been with virgin since 2000, left for a year just to try sky and could not believe how pish the connection was compared to the fibre of virgin. I was told by the rep from sky i'd get 15mb which is pish to be honest I had 100 with virgin, turns out as sky uses a BT line, the further away from the exchange you are the worse the speed is. Ended up I got 3.5 mb, did my year and rapidly went back to virgin.
    NOTE: I have no idea about sky fibre tho...
    Virgin is by far the best for me, yeah sure it does go slow now and again and sometimes even goes down for repairs or system purges.
    Please note this is all with wired lines NOT Wifi, I've heard different stories with virgins wifi problems but most seem to be with the superhub 3, I have a superhub 2
    Also virgin are IMHO the most expensive, they count on loyalty as in don't give you any offers but new joiners get great deals. I am now out of contract and will have to threaten to leave to get a half decent price which is par for the course really.
    Also just got a letter in a few days ago from them telling me as from March the current bill will be going up £3.50 a month !!
    No laughing matter, that would take me up to £62 a month.
    I have a 200mb line.
    BTW that is just for Broadband and Phone line I have NO TV at all.
     
    Last edited: Jan 27, 2021
    TheHappyLoss and Artorias like this.
  2. paulie walnuts Gold Member Gold Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2008
    Messages:
    4,414
    Likes Received:
    4,217
    Location:
    edinburgh
    Fav Celtic Player:
    Neil lennon
    Fav Celtic Song:
    Just cant get enough
    You should speak to them about that mate. I get 350mb for £48 per month. This isn’t cheap either obviously but better than what you’re paying.
     
    scuzzy and Artorias like this.
  3. DJ CJ

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Messages:
    7,937
    Likes Received:
    1,282
    Location:
    I'm Everywhere
    Fav Celtic Player:
    Wanyama
    Fav Celtic Song:
    Let The People Sing
    I’ve got the 300mb with BT, £50 a month. Plus when you go with BT you actually get engineers that know what they’re doing if anything goes wrong.
     
  4. Artorias

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2008
    Messages:
    4,220
    Likes Received:
    2,072
    Location:
    The Abyss
    Fav Celtic Player:
    Larsson
    I didnt know that kind of speed was possible with anyone other than Virgin.
     
  5. Wee Baldy

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2020
    Messages:
    1,612
    Likes Received:
    1,500
    Location:
    Glasgow East
    Fav Celtic Player:
    Henrik Larsson
    Fav Celtic Song:
    Walk On
    I was with SKY for years but kept getting problems with internet connections and slow speeds etc. so I switched to BT and they have been great. I started getting a wee problem with my router a few weeks back but they sent me the new model within two days of reporting the fault. Also get free BT Sport
     
    Artorias likes this.
  6. Artorias

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2008
    Messages:
    4,220
    Likes Received:
    2,072
    Location:
    The Abyss
    Fav Celtic Player:
    Larsson
    That is expensive seeming. The problem with threatening to cancel is they might just do it. Could you not investigate the 300mb @DJ CJ gets
     
  7. McGuire Gold Member Gold Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2012
    Messages:
    82,260
    Likes Received:
    42,817
    Location:
    Jockney over spill..
    Fav Celtic Song:
    For those who are in love.....
    Had Virgin for age's. Best about..
     
    TheHappyLoss and Artorias like this.
  8. stew37

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2012
    Messages:
    3,519
    Likes Received:
    1,768
    Think my BB is 31 a month up to 200mb, haven't ever seen it that high. Did a speed test via my PS4 there and it was 85 download. I don't really notice much difference, think it would only be important for gaming etc. Run my IPTV and work from home using it and haven't had any issues. Use Teams for work and there's other folk disconnecting and having issues with their service constantly so can't complain.
     
    Artorias likes this.
  9. DJ CJ

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Messages:
    7,937
    Likes Received:
    1,282
    Location:
    I'm Everywhere
    Fav Celtic Player:
    Wanyama
    Fav Celtic Song:
    Let The People Sing
    You can get 1gb with BT now, I’ve got full fibre to the premises installed.
     
    Seosamh Máirtín and Artorias like this.
  10. Artorias

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2008
    Messages:
    4,220
    Likes Received:
    2,072
    Location:
    The Abyss
    Fav Celtic Player:
    Larsson
    I looked into that I can't get it in my area. That is unreal speed.
     
  11. jocksteinupper

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2015
    Messages:
    7,270
    Likes Received:
    4,796
    Location:
    N Ayrshire
    Fav Celtic Player:
    Henke
    Fav Celtic Song:
    Willy Maley
    Lucky to get 20meg on Fibre here!! Geography dictates and I can't get any more unless i pay for fibre to the house and no way I'm doing that. A guy at BT told me within the next year or 2 I will be able to get that without paying extra. Don't know if he was pulling ma plonker or not. Sadly no cable laid here for Virgin

    I thought engineers were the same regardless i.e. Openreach as it's their infrastructure??
     
  12. scuzzy Gold Member Gold Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2018
    Messages:
    645
    Likes Received:
    669
    Location:
    Clydebank
    Fav Celtic Player:
    Henke, KT, Naka, Lubo
    Fav Celtic Song:
    fields of athenry
    Well I'm not really too bothered if they do to be honest, I can leave and if I want to go back for a cheaper deal it can be done in her name, seems as long as it's a different user account they get the newer deals.

    @paulie walnuts I always believed the 300mb was a bussiness line only and not available for resedential accounts
    however that's a great price for that speed.

    @DJ CJ that's way cool mate I had no idea BT was anything like that, I'm assuming that's fibre like Vermin, and shouldn't be a problem with distance from the exchange like copper wire. Also even better is the lack of spam phone callers like Virgin has.

    Think i'll have to do a bit of prospecting here
     
    Last edited: Jan 28, 2021
    Artorias likes this.
  13. Dembele the next messi

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2016
    Messages:
    707
    Likes Received:
    163
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Fav Celtic Player:
    Larsson
    Fav Celtic Song:
    Boys of the old brigade
    Im with virgin - got broadband 100mb home phone tv (every channel except sky movies) and a sim only with unlimited mins, texts and 1 gb data. I pay 66 quid for the lot a month.
    When your contract is finished ask to be put through to disconnections and you will most certainly get a better deal.
     
    scuzzy likes this.
  14. Seosamh Máirtín

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2009
    Messages:
    16,420
    Likes Received:
    615
    Location:
    Purgatory
    Go https://www.openreach.com/ and put in details. The more interest they get in the area, the quicker they'll improve the infrastructure. I live outside Belfast in the sticks and I'm getting 300mbs. 1gb available here, which is mad.
     
    Artorias likes this.
  15. Artorias

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2008
    Messages:
    4,220
    Likes Received:
    2,072
    Location:
    The Abyss
    Fav Celtic Player:
    Larsson
    Thank you. I will.
     
  16. scuzzy Gold Member Gold Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2018
    Messages:
    645
    Likes Received:
    669
    Location:
    Clydebank
    Fav Celtic Player:
    Henke, KT, Naka, Lubo
    Fav Celtic Song:
    fields of athenry
    Just checked out Openreach there myself seems it's up to 80mb only unless you pay to get the fibre piped straight into your house (from the cabinet to your house) "cabinet" whazzthat ?
    that way you can you get the up to 1gb speeds (commercial account).
    For the guys on these superfast accounts do you know if thats a static or dynamic IP address ?
    and is the router software capable of port forwarding from one port to another not just same port eg
    port 143 outside to port 22 inside ?